Majorca, Balaeric Islands

Majorca is a wonderful island off spain mostly known for Magaluf, alas my ideal visit was not hard-core party scene so I opted to stay in a modest 3 star apartment about 20 minutes from Palma, in an area called S’arenal. The return flights and 7 night stay in the apartment was £370, which I think is a pretty sweet deal, (student tip) I book my beach holidays on Onthebeach.com as they always have good holiday deals and you can pay in installments up to 2 weeks before you depart.

First of all, the food on this island was amazing, fresh and unbelievable cheap with a good quality meal and a huge glass of sangria usually being under 10 euros. My favourite thing to get when on an island is squid or octopus, as it is always fresh and incredible.

majorca food
Huge glass of Sangria

I was also incredibly lucky to come across a Colombian food market in the city of Palma, and of course as a true Colombian, I got a traditional Colombian empanada (meat pattie) and a rare to find Cholado (colombian ice drink with all delicious and incredible fruits).

 

As the island dates back so long since its discovery there are many ruins on the rocky coast and among them, I found a pool to swim in which was incredible, and my discovery even attracted other people in the area.

majorca pool
Majorca Pool
majorca colombian food
Cholado (left) Empanadas (right)

Leave a comment